About the room

  • House
  • 2 bedrooms total
  • 1 bedrooms available (Double Room)
  • 2 bathrooms
  • 0 months minimum stay
  • Available 11 February
  • Garden
  • Parking
  • Wifi

Who lives there

1 male, professional, non smokers


Ideal roommates

Everyone welcome


Room description

Renovated House, Mostly to Yourself.

The arrangement. You would have our 2br/1.5ba house to yourself most of the time. We are a pilot and an academic, a married couple. He’s away 3-4 days at a time; she works overseas most of the year and visits for a few weeks at a time. We have just bought this house and moved in.

The House and Grounds. We are on a nice street in the Washington Park neighborhood, close to the park itself and a stone’s throw from the MARTA and Beltlines. The house is 1,528 square feet and sits on a quarter-acre at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac. The house, built in 1951, is newly renovated but still has its old charm. There is a lot of sunlight in every room, and there is an extra room that you could help us decide how to use. It could be an office or an extra living room.

The neighbourhood. Washington Park is vibrant and fun, and our street is occupied by families. There are no derelict houses, and there are a number of home renovations happening nearby. Still, once you get out onto the main streets, it’s apparent that this is still a transitional neighbourhood. We moved from Buckhead, and it’s a change. We are excited about new businesses, like Local Green (https://www.localgreenatlanta.com/) as well as the established stalwarts like Busy Bee Café (https://www.thebusybeecafe.com/).

Parking and Storage. Plenty of covered, off-street parking – enough for six cars, if you have them. We don’t own a car, so the parking is all yours. There is storage at the back of the carport/garage for your dirty stuff, like tools, etc.

Furnishings. We just closed on the house, so we don’t have much yet (the furniture you see in the photos belonged to the previous owners). We have a very nice set of white living room furniture so far – but as yet, no dining table or chairs, and nothing to furnish the back room, sun porch, or yard. If you decide to move in before we buy more things, you are welcome to bring your stuff. Otherwise, we will continue slowly furnishing the place. If you don’t bring a TV, the house won’t have one.

Your Room. We haven’t irreversibly selected a bedroom yet, so you’re welcome to either one. Both are sunny and large enough for a king bed, nightstands, dresser, and maybe a desk. There’s already a closet/cupboard in the room. If you have your own furniture, you’re welcome to bring it. We are also happy to furnish the room for you with a $50 per month extra cost.

About Us. We are 41 and 40, married. Jennie is an American-born academic who works full-time in Australia. Cameron is an Australia-born pilot based out of Atlanta. We eat healthy and organic, don’t smoke, and prefer a shoe-free household. Jennie is a tennis player, and Cameron kite boards. Jennie is currently in Atlanta and will be here on-and-off until mid-February, then away for a period.

Rent and Expenses. Rent is $800 per month plus your share of utilities, with a $400 deposit. We will pro-rate the bills for the periods when Jennie is staying.

Noise. We bought this place because the Beltline runs right by it. But with the Beltline on this side of town, you also get the MARTA and train line. We don’t hear them from inside the house, and they don’t run at night. We are both heavy sleepers, though, so if you’re a light sleeper, you may want to come by and have a listen.

Energy efficiency. The place has central heating and aircon. The windows are new, and we are in the process of arranging a new roof. By the time you move in, all the construction will be finished, and the house will be energy efficient. In the unexpected case that the roof repair extends after the start of your lease, we won’t charge you rent on days where there is construction noise.

Laundry. If you have a washer, you’re welcome to bring it. If you don’t, we’ll be buying one. The laundry area also has room for a stackable dryer.


Listing ID: H190108235512430

Posted on 8 January 2019